Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newb: Twenty (20) Things (1-5)

Go down

Newb: Twenty (20) Things (1-5) Empty Newb: Twenty (20) Things (1-5)

Post  lol Sat Mar 22, 2008 1:02 am

1. One can travel between cities using Teleport.

I can almost hear people saying /DUH! But as a total newb not everybody knows this simple fact. I personally played for 3 weeks and never caught on except that a forum member here on SRF told me (thx, Glavie).

By the time I did learn about the TP system, I had thousands of 2nd Degree Wind but still didn't like the fact that I was charged real $GOLD$ for the quick transport.
My friend had patience with me and after discovering the "secrets" of the stall network, I never turned back. Thanks again, Glavie, yer cool and I very much appreciate the support you were willing to give to a newb during their Silkroad travels!
Certain quests prevent Teleporting and the use of Return Scrolls.

2. The characters on a single account all share the same storage.

This is an important fact when later you are trying to better yourself through the game economy because you can position one of your characters in a different city and designate him as your “Stall Character”. Yes, it takes gold to deposit things into storage and it also takes gold to transport your 2nd character (to Hotan, for instance). But as your coffers become full of elements from following the guidelines below it is well worth it.

Even newbs can spend silk. Somehow I knew almost immediately that I would this game except for maybe a couple things. I don't like picking stuff up and I don't like having limited inventory space. Buying a "grab-it pet" (mine is a monkey) was one of the best decisions I've made. Side benefit is that one can fill the monkey inventory, put the pet into storage (for 1g) and transfer things to other characters on the cheap.